Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

fam1

The theme for this week’s challengeWhat do you treasure? What’s most important to you?

I instantly thought of this photo that includes my brother and my mother when I was a little baby.  It’s one of the few photographs I have in my possession of us together.  Every year of college, from freshman to senior year, I would have this photo displayed either on my dresser or my desk in my dorm room.

This has been one of the photos I would see everyday after waking up and before going to sleep.  I guess it’s important/a treasure to me because I like to hold on to the memories I have of living in California with them.  Of course our small family struggled here and there, but we lived through those tough times together.

It’s also one of the few photos I have of my mother.  Since her death in 2001 when I was only 9 years old, it’s been difficult for me to remember what she looks like.  I also cannot remember her voice, which sadly cannot be captured in a photo.  I think that is why I treasure this photo so much.  Even though the people in the photo have changed, the photo itself has remained the same.

 

L.

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

Leave a Reply

