Welcoming August with Open Arms

Goodbye July, hello August!

I’ve been occupied this past week/weekend with the end of my internship for the summer and with some volunteering I did.

I was busy all day Saturday volunteering at the 19th Annual Peoples’ Festival that was held in Wilmington.  It was a beautiful day and I was just happy to be there helping out.  I was working with this organization called Girls Can Do Anything.  Aside from the women who were with the program, I was the only college-aged volunteer there.  There were other girls, probably 16 and under who were helping with selling the bottled water and coconut water to the attendees.  It was a fun experience and the younger girls kept me laughing and smiling.  I plan on volunteering again next year for the 20th annual festival.  This was my first year at the festival and I enjoyed hearing all of the different music and seeing the artists perform.  I just hope I’m able to enjoy more of the food next time since I was only able to get my hands on some cheese fries.

Before the festival began (Shot of one of the stages).
Before the festival began (Shot of one of the stages).

 

One of the artists Grateful Dread performing with the band.
One of the artists Grateful Dread performing with the band.

 

The band that performed with the Grateful Dread.
The band that performed with the Grateful Dread.

 

Yesterday was my last day doing the summer portion of my internship.  One of the mothers whose two children were in the summer program made a cake and my boss bought ice cream.  My boss also got the kids to make me a Thank You card.  I wasn’t expecting to get anything but it was sweet that the kids did that.  One of older children did the artwork on the card which was pretty awesome.  Once classes start up in a few weeks, I’ll have just two free days out of the week where I’ll be able to come in to work.  I’ve met some really great people while working there which included some of the parents and grandparents of the children.  They’ve each told me multiple times how I don’t look like a senior in college when speaking with me.  I just have to get used to people thinking I’m 16.  Whenever I tell them I’m 21, they always seem surprised!

 

The Thank You card from the kids.  Very nice artwork, too!
The Thank You card from the kids. Very nice artwork, too!

 

As you’ve all probably guessed, it’s almost time for me to head back to college.  I’m actually happy this time.  Maybe it’s because it’s my last year here or maybe I’m just in a really good mood.  Whatever the reason, I’m just waiting for these next couple of weeks to roll on by before I leave home again.  I do hope that this is a great year for me and that I can find a decent job after I graduate.

I hope you all had great weeks as well!

 

L.

2 thoughts on “Welcoming August with Open Arms

Leave a Reply

