I Don’t Know About You…

But I’m feeling 22!

I had to play that Taylor Swift song since I turned 22 today.  I completely forgot to update my blog with that information.  I had a pretty eventful day so that’s to blame.  I went out to lunch at Olive Garden with my grandparents when they came down earlier.  They dropped off my birthday cake and some cards as well.  I appreciate the fact that they’ve made trips down here to my college on my past birthdays.  They could have easily just sent their cards in the mail and made a phone call to me, but they took the time out of their day to come down and visit me.  After they left, I headed to the art gallery at my college for the reception and meet & greet for artist Terry Dixon.  I’ll make a separate post about that visit and include the photos I took.  What I can tell you guys about his exhibit is that it is very personal to him.  Dixon’s work reminds me of Jean-Michel Basquiat’s work, and I admire Basquiat’s work as well.   I actually got a chance to speak with Dixon and he gave me some great advice which I’ll also include in the other post.

I then had a chance to see director and producer Lee Daniels in person.  He spoke at my college tonight and everyone in attendance loved him.  He spoke very openly about his childhood and the struggles he had to overcome to get to where he is now.  I was able to get photos of him and with him.  I originally planned on attending so I could write an article about him for my college’s newspaper (Yes, I’m working with the paper once again) and I’m very happy I went.  I enjoyed listening to the life stories he told everyone.  He also has a great sense of humor and is not afraid to throw out a cuss word or two or three.  I plan on watching the movies he’s produced or directed, including the ones I’ve already seen.

 

Lee Daniels and I after he spoke at DSU.
Lee Daniels and I after he spoke at DSU.

 

I’m happy I was able to enjoy my birthday but it hasn’t hit me yet that I’m not 21 anymore.  I’m still going to be carded at bars and liquor stores since people still think I’m 16 or 18, lol.  Overall, my birthday was a good one and I’m happy I got to spend it with family and with two talented people.

Hope you all are having good days (or nights) as well!

 

L.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Know About You…

  1. Happy Birthday!!! And what’s your name? I’m sure it’s on your blog somewhere, but the tired me just can’t look for it. Lol. Just wrote about my birthday (7/7) I posted it months later…like I said, the tired me. Also, have you seen The Butler?

    1. Thank you, and I’ve never mentioned it, but I’m La’Erica. I haven’t seen The Butler yet, I feel bad for saying that, lol. I hope I can see it soon or I’ll just have to wait for the dvd.

      1. Well nice to meet you. I’m not sure about my name either, but my mom’s was Linda and my dad’s was Eric so I guess that explains the Erica part of my name. I’ve been asked if I was French b/c of the La, lol. It would be cool if I was.

        Thank you, it was a hassle trying to get a picture b/c every one and their mothers (literally), were trying to get one, lol. I’ll check out your post as well, thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

