Where Do I Go From Here?

There are three weeks left until I graduate and I am feeling the stress that comes with being a soon-to-be graduate.  I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about my future and about my life after college.  Looking for a job has become a job in itself.  It sucks to know that you’ve spent four years in college and you’re expected to have some type of plan for after you leave, but you realize you don’t have one.  I do have some opportunities available to me, but they’re not paying jobs.

I have been thinking about signing up for the National Guard.  That would be something that would keep me occupied while I’m home.  I tried to join after my freshman year, but I think it’ll be better for me now since I’m older and a little more mature.

Life just seems to be moving so fast and it’s almost like I’m getting left behind.  I look around at the people I know and they’re all either starting families, moving to new places or landing new jobs and I’m still here.  It makes me feel like a failure at times, like I wasted part of my life.  I hate feeling like this, especially since I’m going to be graduating soon.  I’m sure other graduates have felt this way, but I don’t know how to cope with it.

It gets overwhelming at times.  Life seems so easy, yet hard at the same time.  I want to be successful in life and I know it’s going to take some time to get to where I want to be.  A time machine to the future would come in handy right now.  Just skip ahead to a better life and a less stressed out me.  But that only exists in the movies.  I’m talking about you, Marty! 🙂

martyb2tf

 

I didn’t draft this post out so I hope you all don’t mind if my thoughts jump all over the place.  That’s just how my brain works at times, especially when I’m trying to write about what it is I’m feeling and thinking.

I hope you all are having great weekends!

 

L.

10 thoughts on “Where Do I Go From Here?

  1. I’m telling you, NOONE told us. I’m 23 and I feel stuck too, but I can only keep climbing and believing for better days. What about teaching? Degree is Journalism or Communications?? A friend just did Army basic training…you aren’t a failure nor am I. Can’t get stuck forever and if so count yourself a masterpiece, yea, you!!!!

    1. Thank you, I needed to hear that. I am a Mass Communications major and my concentration is in convergence journalism, but I don’t want a regular newspaper job. I do want to own my own bookstore, but that’s not until years from now.

      I’m actually waiting to hear back from this mentorship program I applied for, so that would give me a chance to be a mentor to high school seniors who are considering college. And I know I’m not a failure, it just feels like I am. Better days will come and I think you’re right about that.

  2. Most companies are taking applications online these days. Hopefully, you have created your resume and made several copies. You may need them. And, check with your local temporary agencies. I’m sure they will be pleased to work with a new graduate. Keep several skirt suits on hand for interviews.

  3. I recall feeling that way many years ago after finishing my undergrad and then years later after I got my graduate degree and what I learned is that you are only a failure if you choose to stop pushing the envelope, if you become complacent in doing what you are truly passionate about. The world is an open book for you lady, start penning what will be your narrative, your legacy; you’re a superstar!

    1. Thanks for this message. I’m sure you’re right about everything, I just have a hard time believing in myself. It just seems like the people around me are moving on and I’m staying in the same place. I was told I shouldn’t compare myself to others like that, and it’s something I’m working on. But thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

