Daily Prompt: Young At Heart

I’m happy I checked the daily prompt for today.  It’s been a topic that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately.  The topic for today is:

What are your thoughts on aging? How will you stay young at heart as you get older?

I can always count on people to think I’m younger than what I really am.  16? 17? No? 22?! Really?!  I never get tired of people thinking I’m still in high school, even though I’m a recent college grad.

Age sits well with me.  The younger generation today is not worried about settling down and starting a family, at least I’m not.  When I was a kid, I had it all planned out: college, job, marriage, kids.  Now I’m out of college and all of that has changed.  Aging is something that we all go through, but we all experience it in different ways.  For me, I’m realizing that nothing is going to be easy since I’m moving into adulthood.

Maturity doesn’t come with aging either, and I know I still have some things to learn, but I believe I’m pretty mature for my age.  I do feel like a homebody now since I don’t really get out much anymore.  Maybe when you age, you figure out what works for you and what doesn’t.  So far, I’ve learned that I do not want to be surrounded by people who don’t really care about my well-being or my needs or wants or feelings.

There are a lot of changes that happen to a person when they age aside from the physical changes we see.  There are mental and emotional changes that we all undergo, too.  Some people find out things they never knew about themselves.  For instance, I realized that I can be a very dedicated person, I just need a little motivation to get started.  I do know that I will embrace all of the grey hairs that will be coming my way and that I will not gravitate toward any type of anti-aging serum.  Plus, when I’m 60, I might look 50! Who knows?

The things that I will do to keep my body and mind younger are pretty simple.  Exercise, eat well, listen to my favorite artists, watch my favorite movies, write poetry, go explore the world, and try to check off everything on my 2 bucket lists.  And yes, I have 2 bucket lists that I started back in 2012.  Since I don’t plan on marrying young or starting a family anytime soon, I’ll have plenty of time to work on completing each of the activities.

Aging is a privilege that is not entitled to every person.  Hopefully I can really appreciate it as I get older and embrace my future wrinkles and grey hairs.

-L

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Young At Heart

  1. I understand the high school comments. I’m going to turn 30 this year and I still get “you look like you’re 17” (especially when I have no makeup on). I think my younger looks help me not freak out about age and just relax about it. Is that the case for you or are you just relax about age regardless?

  2. “Maturity doesn’t come with aging either” oh the many times I’ve stated this. One age does not make them mature. Perhaps they are an adult yes, but maturity is not something that comes with age, at least not with humans. Now wine is another story. I’ll have to take others word, because I do not consume alcohol.

    1. I’m happy you agree with that. As for wine, I’ve only had a couple of cups so I don’t know much about that either. I’m sure wine connoisseurs would know!

Leave a Reply

